Close this search box.

To learn more about submitting a post for the ISSOTL blog, visit the ISSOTL Blog submission page.

Report from the ISSOTL Publications Advisory Committee (PAC)

The last few months have seen the fruition of two years of planning, extensive member input, and much discussion, culminating in the launch of Teaching & Learning Inquiry (TLI) in its new Open Access format and new home at the University of Calgary.

With the help of editors Nancy Chick and Gary Poole, editorial manager Kim Grant, Dan Bernstein (on behalf of the ISSOTL Board) and Margy MacMillan as co-chairs of the transition committee, Michael Regoli at Indiana University Press, and Kathryn Ranjit at the University of Calgary, the transition has gone fairly smoothly.  All articles from volumes 1-3 are now freely available at . We’ve been steadily adding enhancements such as the ability to comment and buttons for citing items, enlarging the text, and emailing and sharing articles on social media.

Speaking of social media, you can follow the journal on Twitter @TLI_ISSOTL and Like it on Facebook (“Teaching & Learning Inquiry” or Since the beginning of February, we’ve been tweeting an article a day. Feel free to share these posts and tweets and help spread the word. You can also sign up for email alerts about new issues so you’ll never miss one!

Throughout the process, the PAC has been involved in testing the site and providing feedback, and now we’d love to hear from you at  Let us know what you think and what else you would like to see.

One more request: In the next few months, we’ll be working on reaching out to librarians at institutions who subscribed or had access to the journal through JSTOR databases. Even if your institution didn’t have access to the journal before, it might be time for a chat with your friendly neighbourhood librarian, to make sure TLI is included in your library’s lists of journals.

Publications Advisory Committee:

  • Sean Brawley
  • Anthony Ciccone
  • Mick Healey
  • Pat Hutchings (chair)
  • Margy MacMillan
  • Rebecca Nowacek
  • Nancy Chick and Gary Poole (ex officio)