Close this search box.

To learn more about submitting a post for the ISSOTL blog, visit the ISSOTL Blog submission page.

2020 ISSOTL Fellows

We are pleased to announce the 2020 cohort of ISSOTL Fellows:

  • Michelle J. Eady, Associate Professor, University of Wollongong, Australia
  • Mandy Frake-Mistak, Educational Developer, York University, Canada
  • Melanie Hamilton, EdD Candidate, Western University & Educational Development Specialist, Lethbridge College, Canada
  • Amrita Kaur, Senior Lecturer (Educational Psychology), Universiti Utara Malaysia, Malaysia
  • Hasitha Mahabaduge, Assistant Professor of Physics, Georgia College, USA
  • Patrick Maher, Dean of Teaching, Nipissing University, Canada
  • Marian McCarthy, Centre for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning (CIRTL), University College Cork, Ireland
  • Lucy Mercer-Mapstone, Lecturer in Curriculum, The University of Sydney, Australia
  • Jane Pritchard, Principal Lecturer, Oxford Brookes University, United Kingdom

Launched in 2019, the ISSOTL Fellows program rests on a set of core values which include community engagement and global citizenship, collaboration as a fundamental process in building capacities for new ways of thinking, doing, and learning, and holistic, meaningful, intentional approaches to higher education. These nine fellows seek to build communities and ecosystems animated by a generosity of spirit, including mentorship, leadership, and a commitment to support established and emerging learners and scholars in the pursuit of knowledge creation and sharing. 

On behalf of the ISSOTL Board, the adjudicators, reviewers, and ISSOTL Fellows Advisory Committee, congratulations and welcome to the ISSOTL Fellowship!

JESSIE L. MOORE (PhD - Purdue University) is director of the Center for Engaged Learning and professor of English: Professional Writing & Rhetoric at Elon University. Jessie leads planning, implementation, and assessment of the Center’s research seminars, which support multi-institutional SoTL on high-impact pedagogies and other focused engaged learning topics. Her recent research examines transfer of writing knowledge and practices, multi-institutional research and collaborative inquiry, writing residencies for faculty writers, the writing lives of university students, and high-impact pedagogies. She is the author of Key Practices for Fostering Engaged Learning: A Guide for Faculty and Staff (Stylus, expected 2021) and co-editor of Critical Transitions: Writing and the Question of Transfer (with Chris Anson, The WAC Clearinghouse and University Press of Colorado, 2016), Understanding Writing Transfer: Implications for Transformative Student Learning in Higher Education (with Randy Bass, Stylus, 2017), and Excellence in Mentoring Undergraduate Research (with Maureen Vandermaas-Peeler and Paul C. Miller, CUR, 2018). Her work has appeared in Computers and Composition, Composition Forum, Composition Studies, Journal of Faculty Development, Journal on Centers for Teaching & Learning, TESOL Journal, Written Communication, and in edited collections.

With Peter Felten, she edits two book series: the Stylus Publishing/Center for Engaged Learning Series on Engaged Learning and Teaching, and the Center for Engaged Learning Open Access Book Series.

Jessie’s professional service to the scholarship of teaching and learning was recognized with the 2019 International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (ISSOTL) Distinguished Service Award. She currently serves as Co-Chair of the ISSOTL Publications Committee. She previously served as the elected Secretary of the Conference on College Composition and Communication (2015-2019), on the Executive Committee for CCCC, and as U.S. Regional Vice President of ISSOTL. In 2013, she co-hosted the International Society for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning conference with Peter Felten and developed ISSOTL Online 2013, which featured strands on SoTL foundations, studying and designing for transfer, and student voices in SoTL. Learn more about her work at

Leave A Reply